Regimental awards are presented annually to Officers, Non-Commissioned Officers, Soldiers and units for outstanding performance. These awards are presented at the Regimental Spring Ball. A display of the awards is maintained in the Regimental Headquarters.

DRAPER AWARD: The Draper Armor Leadership Award is given annually to promote, sustain, and recognize effective leadership in Armor and Cavalry units. The unit selects one Armored Cavalry Troop as the best Ground Cavalry Troop based on measurable performance in seven functional areas. The award also recognizes individuals who exhibit excellence in leadership or training, or who made significant contributions to the force. The Chief of Armor and Commanding General of Fort Knox is the proponent for this award.

HARVAY AWARD: Presented by the Second Cavalry Association to the most outstanding Junior Officer and Non-Commissioned Officer of the Regiment. It is presented with a free lifetime membership in the 2d Cavalry Association to recognize the service of those who have demonstrated the highest level of professionalism in the traditions of the Second Dragoons.

ABRAMS AWARD: Presented to the best Non-Lettered Troop (includes all seperate companies, all HHT’ s, S&T Troop, Maintenance Troop, and Medical Troop). This award is a counterpart to the Draper Award to recognize the best non-lettered troop, company or battery that demonstrates the most professional excellence during the preceding year. Named for 39th Colonel of the Regiment, Creighton W. Abrams.

RODENBOUGH AWARD: Presented to the best Regimental Aviation Troop (lettered) for demonstrating the most professional excellence during the previous year. Named for Colonel Theophilus F. Rodenbough [Captain, 2d Cavalry, March 27, 1861 – July 28, 1866]. Medal of Honor, Trevilian Station, Virginia, June 11, 1864.

PELHAM AWARD: Presented to the best Squadron Fire Support System to recognize the traditions and heritage of the Field Artillery within the Regiment. The criteria for selection will be based on the unit’ s performance during the Dragoon Thunder exercise.

HUGGINS AWARD: Presented to the Junior Officer of the Year (all company grades) to recognize the most outstanding Junior Officer of the Regiment for the previous year. Named for the 12th Colonel of the Regiment, Eli L. Huggins, 2d Cavalry, April 11, 1879 – January 13, 1897; December 5, 1901 – February 4, 1903. Medal of Honor, April 1, 1880, O’ Fallon’ s Creek, MT.

THAYER AWARD: Presented to the Warrant Officer of the Year (WO1 to CW3) based on their rated performance inleadership positions, physical fitness, individual weapons qualification, and leadership ability. Named for the 18th Colonel of the Regiment, Arthur Thayer, 2d Cavalry, June 22, 1917 – August 11, 1919.

SCHMIDT AWARD: Presented to the Senior Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year (SFC to CSM) based on their rated performance in leadership positions, physical fitness, weapons qualification, leadership ability, tactical and technical proficiency, and special accomplishments as well as their contributions to the unit. Named for First Sergeant Conrad Schmidt, Company K, 2d Cavalry. Medal of Honor, Winchester, Virginia, September 19, 1864.

LEONARD AWARD: Presented to the Junior Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year (CPL to SSG) for recognition of outstanding achievement through the winning of NCO of the Quarter Board. Named for Sergeant Patrick Leonard, Company C, 2d Cavalry. Medal of Honor, May 15, 1870, Little Blue Nebraska; May 17, 1870, Republican River.

FARRIER AWARD: Presented to the Trooper of the Year based on rated performance in leadership positions, physical fitness, weapons qualification, leadership ability, technical and tactical proficiency and special accomplishments.

HISTORY OF SERVICE AWARD: Presented to the 2d ACR Family Member Volunteer of the Year for their volunteer services, their impact on the quality of life for 2d ACR Soldiers and their families and the impact on the quality of life for the Fort Polk Community.

SCOUTS OUT: This annual training excercise determines the best scout section in the Regiment. Scouts Out is a competition based on several events designed to test each team’ s mental and physical agility, technical and tactical acumen, and the section’ s ability to work together as a team through the most trying circumstances.

DRAGOON LIGHTNING: Dragoon Lightning is a combined arms excercise that trains and externally evaluates the Regiment’ s anti-tank companies and the 84th Engineer Company. This excercise culminates in the awarding of a trophy and streamer to the best anti-tank company.

DRAGOON THUNDER: Dragoon Thunder is an annual competition and external evaluation of the Regiment’ s indirect fire systems. The best squadron is awarded the Pelham Award. The best howitzer battery is awarded the McRae guidon streamer. This streamer is named in honor of Captain McRae, an artilleryman who took charge of Troop G at the Battle of Val Verde, New Mexico, 21 February 1862. The troopers of G Troop fought the engagement as artillerymen, manning the guns of McRae’ s battery.

TROOP FIGHT: Troop fight is an annual event designed to evaluate the operational proficiency of the ground Cavalry troops through a realistic and challenging force-on-force training event. The Troop Fight will focus on the ground cavalry troop’ s Mission Essential Task List while integrating air cavalry, air defense and engineer operations.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The owner of this website has made a commitment to accessibility and inclusion, please report any problems that you encounter using the contact form on this website. This site uses the WP ADA Compliance Check plugin to enhance accessibility.